Early Years Curriculum

All pupils in the Early Years Department follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS).  There are seven areas of learning which include three prime and four specific areas:-

Prime Areas:

  • Communication & Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World

Our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum is rich, broad and exciting. The pupils follow a themed approach to their learning, where topics are set in line with the pupils’ interests to inspire their learning. This wonderful topic approach stimulates the pupils to learn across all areas of the Early Years Curriculum in a much more appealing and engaging manner. The pupils have a ‘WOW’ day to immerse them into their new topic and finish each term with a ‘fabulous finale’ to celebrate their learning! Our dedicated team carefully plan a wide range of activities that link to the topic and allow the pupils to explore all areas of the curriculum. In addition, we enrich the pupils’ experiences through a range of other activities, some taught by specialist teachers, including Spanish, ICT, Singing and Signing, Music and PE lessons, together with assemblies, themed days, performances, trips and outings.